Welcome to the website of Scottish singer songwriter Dean Owens

Best UK Act Of 2021 (Americana UK Readers Poll 2021)

UK Song of the Year Award winner (AMA UK Awards 2019)

  • offical announcement - UK Song of the Year Award winner (AMA-UK)
  • Dean Owens (in teal suit, hat and yellow shirt, on stage, being presented with Americanafest UK Song of the Year Award 2019 by Graham Gouldman (10CC)

One of my favourite artists… “Whispering” Bob Harris (BBC)
For God’s sake buy this album…! Russell Brand
Scotland’s most engaging and haunting singer-songwriter Irvine Welsh


23 DEC 2022

Dean Owens wins UK Artist of The Year and UK Album of the Year (Sinner’s Shrine) awards in American UK’s Readers Poll 2022. Click here for full story and list of winners

28 OCT 22

OCT 2022

  • Dean Owens & The Sinners announced for Celtic Connections 2023. Thur 26th Jan, Oran Mor. Tickets and more information from Celtic Connections website.

SEP 2022

  • Dean announced as special guest for “A Night With Ian Rankin” – Tues 11th Oct. Other guests include Jed Mercurio (Line of Duty) and Nicola Shindler (It’s A Sin)
  • Tickets and info for all upcoming live dates, including Dean Owens & The Sinners in Netherlands, and as part of Scotland On Tour – www.deanowens.com/live

SEP 2022

  • Glasgow Americana date with Hannah Aldridge, Sat 8th Oct, is now SOLD OUT

JULY 2022

  • Dean to open for TEXAS at Edinburgh Castle, Thurs 14th July.
  • Tickets and more info, click here

JUNE 2022

  • Summer tour dates now on sale – including Static Roots Festival (Germany), Fringe By The Sea Festival (North Berwick), High Tide (Twickenham), Edinburgh Fringe (Pleasance at EICC) + more.
  • See www.deanowens.com/live for more info

25 Feb 2022

  • Sinner’s Shrine new entry in Official UK Charts.
  • RECORD OF THE WEEK – Ralph McLean Country (BBC Radio Ulster) and Celtic Music Radio

19 Feb 2022

  • Double page interview by editor of Rolling Stone (France) who says Sinner’s Shrine is his “Record of the Week”

un ouvrage magistral

  • 18 FEB 2022 – NEW ALBUM RELEASE: Sinner’s Shrine. Recorded in Tucson AZ with members of Calexico. Joint release by Eel Pie Records (London) and Continental Record Services (Netherlands). Available on all usual online platforms, record shops etc and Dean’s Bandcamp page.
  • JAN 2021 – Video for After The Rain (from Sinner’s Shrine) premiered on Folk Radio UK
  • Dean’s music captures not only the very essence and spirit of the wide-open vistas of the American Southwest but also a more personal inner-awakening, one we are allowed to experience here in splendid technicolour
  • Dec 2021 – Dean voted Best UK Act of 2021 Americana UK Readers’ Poll – Read more in the article here
  • Video: New Mexico – from The Burning Heart (Desert Trilogy Vol 1) and Sinner’s Shrine (Released Feb 2022)

  • OCT 2020: NEW VIDEO for A Song For The Dark Times, premiered on Americana UK, who say “simply beautiful… just what we need to listen to right now“. Other comments about the song include: “very special” – Ralph McLean (BBC Radio Ulster); “like a flower through the pavement” – Paul Sexton (BBC)

Follow Dean on Spotify