The Man From Leith (Best of Dean Owens) – VINYL


The Man From Leith (The Best of Dean Owens) is a collection of songs from Dean’s 7 official solo albums, from The Droma Tapes(2001) to Southern Wind (2018).

With sleeve notes by Irvine Welsh:
Dean Owens’ music and story also feels like a tribute to the songs inside us, reaching into us to find the threads of our common humanity… As a vocalist Dean is possessed with a voice which soars to the exuberant highs and swoops to melancholic lows that I’ve witnessed break hearts far, far harder than mine. And it perfectly delivers those beautiful songs of love and loss, the pulse of all our lives“.

Only 4 left in stock



Track List
Side A
1. Man From Leith (06:38)
2. Up On The Hill (03:54)
3. Strangers Again (03:06) (ft duet with Karine Polwart)
4. Elvis Was My Brother (03:46)
5. Baby Fireworks (03:36)

Side B
1. Dora (5:33)
2. Southern Wind (04:29)
3. The Night Johnny Cash Played San Quentin (04:09)
4. Raining in Glasgow (04:53)
5. The Last Song (04:00)

Released 20 Mar 2020, on Eel Pie Records.
Deep red vinyl, with gatefold sleeve. Includes free download (with additional songs, as CD version).
All songs written by Dean Owens except Southern Wind and The Last Song (both Owens/Kimbrough).
NOTE: all songs remastered for vinyl by Jim DeMain, Yes Master, Nashville


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.