El Tiradito (The Curse Of Sinner’s Shrine) – double CD


Recorded at the iconic WaveLab Studios in Tucson, with musicians from Calexico, and long distance in various home studios from Tucson to Berlin via Pencaitland (Scotland).
Beautifully packaged in a 6 panel, gatefold digipak. Design by James Morrison with stunning original illustrations by Luisa Carmela Casasanta.
Try before you buy – free streaming on Bandcamp

In stock



A double album, recorded in Tucson and long distance with musicians from Calexico and friends.

Disc 1 -The songs from the (long since sold out) Desert Trilogy EPs (half from the Sinner’s Shrine sessions but not already on the album, and half recorded long distance) finally released on one CD.

Disc 2 – El Tiradito – Dean unleashes his inner Morricone with an all instrumental soundtrack for an imaginary Western, inspired by the story of El Tiradito, or The Shrine to the Sinner, which is part of Tucson folklore.

The story reads like a classic Sergio Leone Western – a tragic tale of forbidden passion and blood soaked revenge and retribution. To this day, people still visit the shrine and leave messages to lost loved ones, lovers, saints and sinners.

1. Mother Road (4:15)
2. Dolina (3:26)
3. Ashes & Dust (3:33)
4. Tombstone Rose (3:21)
5. Riverline (4:48)
6. She Was A Raven (3:25)
7. Even When I’m Gone (3:08)
8. The End (4:03)*
9. Bonus track: La Lomita (solo home demo sketch)
10. Bonus track: The Hopeless Ghosts (solo home demo sketch)

Dean Owens – vocals, nylon string guitar, BVs
Joey Burns – upright bass, electric guitar (1, 2, 6)
John Convertino – drums
Sergio Mendoza – piano, percussion (2)
Jacob Valenzuela – trumpet (1, 2, 6)
Martin Wenk – trumpet (3, 8)
Naïm Amor – electric guitar (2, 3, 5, 8)
Paul Niehaus – pedal steel (1)
Tom Hagerman – violin (8)
Kevin McGuire – upright bass (3, 5, 8)

1. El Tiradito (2:54)
2. A Bullet And A Silver Coin (3:37)
3. Canyon Without A Name (2:13)
4. How The West Was Stolen (3:43)
5. The Rain That Never Lands (3:11)
6. The Final Ride (3:34)
7. Weeping Skulls (2:49)
8. Ride The Hanging Road (3:49)

Dean Owens – vocals, acoustic guitar, whistling
John Convertino – drums, percussion
Naim Amor – guitar
Martin Wenk – trumpet
Tom Hagerman – strings
Kevin McGuire – bass

All songs written by Dean Owens, except Tombstone Rose (by Dean Owens/Joey Burns), She Was A Raven (by Dean Owens/Gabriel Sullivan); Produced by Dean Owens